Avenged Sevenfold, 19th June 2024, Helviti, Copenhell Festival, Denmark
21st June 2024
Biohazard, 20th June 2024, Hades, Copenhell Festival, Denmark
21st June 2024
Avenged Sevenfold, 19th June 2024, Helviti, Copenhell Festival, Denmark
21st June 2024
Biohazard, 20th June 2024, Hades, Copenhell Festival, Denmark
21st June 2024

Mr. Bungle, 20th June 2024, Hades, Copenhell Festival, Denmark

Mr. Bungle, 20th June 2023, Hades, Copenhell Festival, Denmark
  • 9/10
    Mr. Bungle - 9/10

Photo: Goran www.urbanmescalero.com

Somewhat of a scoop for Copenhell, looking at Mr. Bungle’s significance in 90’s when they released some of the most interesting and revolutionary experimental music. The band cantered around Mike Patton (Faith No More, Tomahawk, Fantômas), Trey Spruance and Trevor Dunn were on hiatus for some two decades and then released re-recording of their 1986 demo, entitled The Raging Wrath of the Easter Bunny Demo. This time around they were joined by Scot Ian (Anthrax) and Dave Lombardo (ex-Slayer, Grip Inc., Fantômas). And the line-up in itself is a somewhat of a scoop booking.

Unfortunately, since getting back together the band only focuses on playing The Raging Wrath of the Easter Bunny Demo as well as covers. That means that none of the albums that made Mr. Bungle unique and so influential are featured in their concerts. Still with this all-star line-up, it was one of those must-see at this year’s Copenhell. 

The band opened with “Grizzly Adams” after which Mike Patton showed up supporting hair braids, smudged lipstick, one of his colourful Hawaii-shirts and message written on his neck – simply stating “Neck”.

The band then ripped into a frantic “Anarchy Up Your Anus”, before going into a whole another extreme by playing the smooth and fuzzy cover of 10cc’s “I’m Not in Love”. Before you know it, they were back at it again, spewing riffs, manic electronic textures and vocal escapades only worthy Patton. Behind drums Dave Lombardo did what he does best and no matter how many times you experience this man live, he never fails to impress. No one on planet plays drums like Dave Lombardo, the feel, the precision and jazzy groove are so his own that even if you didn’t see him behind the drums, you’d know it was him playing. Hell only hearing him hit that ride-cymbal is enough to know that’s him playing.

Few songs in Patton took of that shirt, which revealed a tank top with message “I’m not gay, but 20$ is 20$”. On his hands bizarre drawings of anything from a peperoni pizza to a big cock. And yea, of course a “Dick power” statement written in big letters, because why not.

His vocal performance was as diverse and frantic as you’d expect. Shifting from one extreme to another with ease it’s quite impressive taking into the consideration that he’s not a kid anymore.

The intensity of material and bizarre shifts in genres gave this show the overall unique feel despite the band not playing their most unique material – at all.
“Hypocrites / Habla español o muere” changed to “Speak Danish or Die” resulted in ecstatic cheers and cover of “Spandau Ballet” was a peculiar mixture because of how close it came to the original yet with some typical Patton outburst. It was one of the biggest sing-alongs of the show as well.

Mr. Bungle are taking piss at anyone and everyone and especially at themselves and it’s refreshing to see Patton poking the political correctness bear with a spark in the eye. Towards the end the band blasted through “My Ass Is on Fire” and ”Sudden Death”, before closing the show with another soft cover, which put the smiles on anyone’s face, once again. That cover of Eric Carmen’s “All by Myself” was of course changed to “Go Fuck Yourself” and it rounded up this show perfectly. Mr. Bungle’s performance at 2:45 PM on Copenhell’s second stage was a masterclass in messiahship, experimental freedom, rebellion and plain good ol’ times that just about any band at this year’s Copenhell could learn something from. And they did all that without playing any of their best and most signifficant material.



  1. Grizzly Adams
  2. Anarchy Up Your Anus
  3. I’m Not in Love
  4. Eracist
  5. Spreading the Thighs of Death
  6. Hypocrites / Habla español o muere
  7. Glutton for PunishmentHell Awaits
  8. True
  9. You Lose
  10. Raping Your Mind
  11. Hopelessly Devoted to You
  12. My Ass Is on Fire
  13. Sudden Death
  14. All by Myself 
This website uses cookies to improve your experience. By using this website you agree to our Data Protection Policy.
Read more